Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery (CBR4 #42)

I don’t know how I missed the Anne of Green Gables books when I was younger, but I did. I read all the Babysitters Club, all the Little House on the Prairie books but no Anne. I wish that I had found these books earlier since Anne is such a kindred spirit, as she would phrase it. L.M. Montgomery took much of the beautiful surroundings of Prince Edward Island at the turn of the last century to create the optimum environment to introduce perhaps the most fully formed adolescent character I have ever read.

Anne of Green Gables introduces us to Anne Shirley, an orphan who has traveled from home to home over the years but still has a dreamer’s heart. She is accidentally adopted by Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert who are unmarried siblings living in their family home and as they reach their twilight years are looking for someone to help around the farm at Green Gables. Anne is not this child, but she ends up filling the space in their lives that was missing without their realizing it.

Anne is finally able to have the life of child and Marilla is determined to turn this vain, silly, sentimental, proud and impetuous girl and turn her into the model seen and not heard child. This is simply not to be, but in the book we follow the course of turning the absent-minded dreamer into an academic powerhouse who makes a bosom friend, finds a few kindred spirits, and finds herself loyal to the family of Green Gables over all else.

Read this book if you haven’t. Treat yourself.

About faintingviolet

Museum educator, caffiene junkie, book lover, student of history, overall goofball.

One thought on “Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery (CBR4 #42)

  1. [...] I don’t know how I missed the Anne of Green Gables books when I was younger, but I did. I read all the Babysitters Club, all the Little House on the Prairie books but no Anne. I wish that I had found these books earlier since Anne is such a kindred spirit, as she would phrase it. L.M. Montgomery took much of the beautiful surroundings of Prince Edward Island at the turn of the last century to create the optimum environment to introduce perhaps the most fully formed adolescent character I have ever read. [...]

Leave a Reply

