Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls (CBR6 #17)

 

 

Image

I am a fan of David Sedaris’s view of the world. I have read every book he has written, starting with Me Talk Pretty One Day shortly after its publication in 2000 and as I am want to do, I then began working immediately through his catalogue. And I have loved them. But something is happening, and I do not know if it’s me, or if it’s him, or if perhaps we are just in a rough spot in our relationship. I laughed fewer times while reading Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls than with any other David Sedaris work I’ve encountered. And there were parts that I, in fact, hated.

It feels like blasphemy to say so.

Here’s the synopsis from Amazon:

A guy walks into a bar car and…

From here the story could take many turns. When the guy is David Sedaris, the possibilities are endless, but the result is always the same: he will both delight you with twists of humor and intelligence and leave you deeply moved.

Sedaris remembers his father’s dinnertime attire (shirtsleeves and underpants), his first colonoscopy (remarkably pleasant), and the time he considered buying the skeleton of a murdered Pygmy. The common thread? Sedaris masterfully turns each essay into a love story: how it feels to be in a relationship where one loves and is loved over many years, what it means to be part of a family, and how it’s possible, through all of life’s absurdities, to grow to love oneself.

With LET’S EXPLORE DIABETES WITH OWLS, David Sedaris shows once again why he is widely considered the “the funniest writer in America” (O, the Oprah Magazine).

Ok, so here’s where I think it lost me – I didn’t get the idea that each of the main essays was intended to be rumination about love or that love was meant to be the common link. It just wasn’t clear to me. Maybe I wasn’t paying close enough attention, but here we are. I missed that main thrust which left me feeling adrift in the book as I went from chapter to chapter.

The other big piece of the unhappy puzzle is this – there are things inside the book described as the “etc”. In the Author’s Note Sedaris explains that he has included pieces designed to be utilized by students he has met over the years who participate in Forensics, where students take published short stories, edit them to a predetermined length, and recite them competitively. I hated all of them. I didn’t find them amusing, and I couldn’t imagine listening to a teenager perform them. I should’ve just skipped them, but my completionistic nature wouldn’t let me.

So, what’s my final verdict? I don’t know. Probably read if you are a diehard Sedaris fan, but I don’t know that this is the best place to jump in.

Or it could just be me.

This book was read and reviewed as part of the charitable Cannonball Read.

About Katie

Museum educator, caffiene junkie, book lover, student of history, overall goofball.

Leave a Reply

