Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol (CBR6 #57)

I haven’t read any Dickens. Ever. What at first was an oversight had turned over the years into a point of silly pride. Sometimes you just don’t want to read a classic author, you know? I’m sure part of it was that for many years one of the holiday events I worked was based on A Christmas Carol.

The story is ubiquitous. Almost everyone knows the story of Scrooge being visited by the ghosts of Christmas Past, Present, and Future, getting himself scared straight and vowing to keep the spirit of Christmas the year round. This year I had a change of heart and thought – okay, let’s see what the fuss is about with the source material. So, I went to my handy dandy online library catalog and put in a request for A Christmas Carol and waited for it to arrive.

Boy was I surprised when Brett Helquist’s (who illustrated the A Series of Unfortunate Events books) beautifully illustrated and adapted Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol showed up for me. This wasn’t what I expected, and I still haven’t officially read a work by Dickens, but this version was lovely and I whole heartedly recommend locating it and reading it aloud to young persons in your life.

On a more grown-up theme, while watching A Muppet Christmas Carol the other night one of my friends commented that the one of the themes Dickens was playing around with was what we call therapy today. Showing the character of Scrooge go back to his earliest days and walk through the events that made him who he was, and what the eventual outcome of those choices is very much what happens in many a psychologists office. Food for thought, certainly.

Happy Holidays, everyone!

This book was read and reviewed as part of the charitable Cannonball Read.

About Katie

Museum educator, caffiene junkie, book lover, student of history, overall goofball.

One thought on “Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol (CBR6 #57)

  1. […] at school there are definitely some classics, or classic authors, that have escaped my purview (looking at you Charles Dickens). I don’t remember if I’d heard good things or bad, but I was definitely a little wary of this […]

Leave a Reply

